The Book Thief

My experience reading The Book Thief is rough. It was a long book, I started reading it every-night but I didn’t really follow through. I read a little bit while I traveled but after that I wasn’t even half way done with it. But once I realized that a blog post was due in a couple weeks I panicked. I buckled down and finished it over the course of 3 days, reading hours at a time. I will say the audio version helped me get through it.

The reason it was rough is because the begging was very long, it would just make  me sad or it was just boring. When it got interesting it was still kinda stretched out (like when they got Max). Also, there was so much build up to them ( Hans, Rosa, and Rudy) all dying expect for Lisel and she goes with the mayor’s wife,  but it doesn’t explain what happens after that. She goes to their funerals and reunites with Max but what happens after? Does she go live with him? Or he moves in the the Mayor? It just doesn’t say.  Death talks about her life after but very vague, how she has three kids, a husband, and is far away from Molching, but I want to know more. Overall I just feel unsatisfied and wish their was more to the story instead of just leaving it with her meeting death for the fourth time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *