A Meaningful Piece Of Art

In my childhood I watched tons of Disney movies. But one of my favorites was “The Little Mermaid”. I loved mermaids, the songs, and her sidekicks ( Sebastian and Flounder).  As the years went on, I grew up and didn’t think much of it. Until I needed a song to sing for my show choir audition. I was having trouble finding a song. Then, I realized I sang a solo in 7th grade from “Part of that World”.   I  already connected with the song because I always wanted to explore new places and observer other people’s life styles. So, I used it and nailed the audition, now it will have a even more special place in my heart.

The film was based off a Danish fairy tale written by Hans Christian Andersen. The film and fairy tale have the same storyline.  A mermaid falls in love a human boy and she gives up her voice to have legs to marry him ( fairy tale) or receive a true love’s kiss (film). She goes to the human world and can’t talk but they grow fond of each other. In the film, Ursula ( a sea witch) uses her voices to make Eric fall in love with her (Ariel saves him in the beginning and remembers her voice). But they break the shell that contains her voice and, they then fight Ursula. Eric and Ariel get married and live happily ever after. But in the fairy tale, the neighbor princess from the kingdom next to them, saved his life from a ship reck and he found out so they decide to get married instead of marrying the little mermaid. The night before the wedding,  the Sea Witch gave the mermaid sisters a knife to give to the little mermaid. She was suppose to kill him with that knife and let his blood drip on her legs to turn her back into a mermaid because of all the pain a suffering she did for the prince. But, instead she kills herself and turns into a earthbound spirt and has to do good deeds for mankind for 300 years, then will rise into the Kingdom of God.

” The Little Mermaid” is artistic merit because of all the original songs and cartoons. The excavate relevance on Walt Disney is that he created cartoons, movies, books, and characters that have had a positive influence  on tons of peoples in their childhoods and have touched peoples hearts. People loved them so much, it carried into their adulthood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *